Things to know about Belmont stakes and Belmont stakes winners


Are you fond of horse racing? Then do you know about the oldest Triple Crown races in the US history? Well it is the Belmont Stake. Read on to find out more about the fascinating history of the Belmont stakes and the various Belmont stakes winners.

The Belmont stakes Historical Winners

The Belmont stakes is also popular by the name of US Triple Crown. First contested in the year 1867, it is the oldest Triple Crown Races. Take a glance through some of the best horses and most historic wins that the Race has seen:

  • The first winner of the Belmont stakes was the historic filly Ruthless. While earlier it was held in some other venue, it moved to its current venue in the Belmont Park in the year 1905, right after the opening of the new course there.
  • In 1908, three years after this shift, the race was won by Colin, one of the finest horses that US has seen so far. Colin remained unbeaten in fifteen races, going a head over the Fair Play.
  • Fair play was marked for the outstanding victories in Race course. In 1920, his finest son who is said to be the best race horse America has ever seen won the prestigious Belmont Man o’War. Though he had only one opponent he still attained victory by 20 lengths and this in itself became a World record for the 1-5/8 miles
  • Some other notable winners of the following year include Sir Barton, Gallant Fox( 1930), Omaha(1935) and Man o’war’s Son War Admiral (1937)
  • Among these victories, War Admirals is often looked back as a sort of miracle. The horse had initially delayed to start and even while it was trying to come out, it cut its right forefoot. Yet it managed to bag the victory by three lengths . It was indeed a sight to see as by then he was covered in blood.
  • In the 1940s, there were 4 new names were added to the list of winners for Triple Crown. Two among these win were bagged by none other than the finest horses- Count Fleet and Citation. But the following years saw a standstill. The next winner came only in the year 1973. It was this year that the famous Secretariat won in the record breaking time of 2:24.00 by 31 lengths, a record that is still unbroken.
  • The 1970s saw two more winners in the form of Seattle Slew (1977) and Affirmed in 1978 became the last victor in that century.
  • However despite the on-going drought, the race course did see some dramatic racers who are remembered for their antics till today. There were also some really close tiffs such as that by Triple quiet who missed the Triple Crown bid by just an inch.

Latest winner

The long drought in the Triple Crown Bids was finally broken In 2015 by American Phaorah. There has been only other winner in the present decade that is Justify in 2018.

Image Credits – ESPN

Raj Hirvate
Hi, I'm Raj Hirvate and I am a Tech Blogger from India. I like to post about technology and product reviews to the readers of my blog. Apart from blogging i'm a big Anime fan I Love Watching Naruto, One piece and Death Note.

Price Elasticity of Demand: Everything You Need to Know

Previous article

Crucial factors to know about MLB Betting

Next article

You may also like